Falling Petals

Shakespeare spoke of roses.

In truth, he spoke of one.

Humbly, I speak of petals,

expiring when love is done.

 

We were children on the playground,

squealing while at play.

Shannon was my paramour

till her petal fell away.

 

Pamela made me merry

with every word she’d say.

I told her than I loved her

but that petal dropped away.

 

Debbie was in the running,

but Carrie won the day.

I barely chanced to hold her,

before her petal slipped away.

 

I loved Danielle with all my heart,

but she was a rose made out of clay.

She had no blushing color,

and no petal to fall away.

 

Dorthy was a sailor

and wasn’t allowed to stay.

I still regret our parting,

and that her petal went away.

 

Roxanne wanted money.

Stacey, a husband with which to lay.

I considered our seperation triage.

Those petals, I cast away.

 

Now we come to Cassie;

my sickly-sounding hymn.

Who plucked out all the petals

and left me the prickly stem.

 

 

Leave a comment