The Farmer’s Rose

No longer does Demeter

kiss the ground beneath my feet.

Too many years of hosting corn

had left the garden leeched.

 

It is useless clay beneath me;

a field of plough-cracked stone.

But once, it was a bountiful garden

sustaining my family home.

 

As a child, I rode the plough

my father pulled about

and dug my toes in rich dark soil

doing my best to just help out.

 

I spent my summers in the corn

playing at hide and seek,

listening to laughter amongst the rows

with pollen-dusted cheeks.

 

But now, the seasons turned

on this beloved stretch of land.

It will never again know laughter

or the touch of a ploughman’s hand.

 

It’s become nothing but a bridge

connecting our home and barn

one must carefully choose to cross

lest the thorns inflict them harm.

 

Most seasons, I spare it not a glance.

Here, the cocklebur reigns.

The ropey weeds and blackberry briars,

in concert, this ground reclaimed.

 

I mourn the loss of the enchanted garden

where my siblings and I came to play,

but a silver-lining, if one exist,

is how nature marked the grave.

 

The Morning Glory is mourning glory.

Watch how the blossomed serpent grows.

It winds and twines and kisses our eyes,

and to the sky, the Farmer’s Rose doth go.

Leave a comment